The Frenchman had won the Drivers’ Championship the day before, having driven through the field to finish fifth from 20th place on the grid, gaining enough points to avoid a Sunday decider - but with Audi just five points behind his Techeetah team there was still plenty to play for. 

A jump start at the lights from teammate Andre Lotterer on the front row of the grid was disastrous for Techeetah, as he was punished with a 10-second penalty which pushed him to the back of the grid. Despite his best efforts to make up ground, a ninth place finish for Lotterer was not enough for the title.

Audi teammates Lucas di Grassi, who has finished first or second in each of the last seven E-Prix of the season, and Daniel Abt took second and third and with it the Teams’ Championship in Audi’s very first season in the all-electric series.

The New York City E-Prix attracted stars from across the world of entertainment, with actress Liv Tyler and actor Patrick Dempsey amongst those enjoying the season finale from the stands. 

Formula E returns with teams using the all-new Gen2 car in December, with the sport making its Middle East debut in Saudi Arabia.